Image default

Nigeria to host Global Goals World Cup

Engr. Hussaini Sulaiman Tahir (3L), Chairman, Board of Trustees, 17 Goals Africa Initiative; Mr. Kayode A. Oluokun (4L), Co-founder 17 Goals Africa Initiative; Mr. Boaz Paldi (6L) the Manager for Partnerships and Engagements for United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).
[Front Row, From Right]: Mr. Oludeji Owoyele (Co-founder 17 Goals Africa Initiative) and Representative from Other local host countries include Colombia, Jordan, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, India, Czech Republic, Kenya and Dominican Republic.

Nigeria will host its first Global Goals World Cup (GGWCup) in March 2020. An announcement to this effect was made at the recently concluded United Nations General Assembly

“The announcement, which took place during the GGWCup finals — held at SAP Next-Gen Office, 48th Floor of 10, Hudson Yard, New York City,) — came on the heels of the signing of an MoU between EIR Soccer of Denmark (the organisers of the global finals) and 17 Goals Africa Initiative (the local organizing partner in Nigeria) in August, 2019,” a statement sent to The Daily Report reads.

According to the statement, Lagos State is being considered to host the tournament GGWCup with “64 teams drawn from the private and public sectors, NGOs, Civil Society Organisations and Religious Organisations.” 

The winner of the event will represent Nigeria at the 2020 Global Finals in New York during the week of the 75th United Nations General Assembly.

Present at the event were the representatives of 17 Goals Africa Initiative, Engr. Hussaini Sulaiman Tahir, who is the Chairman, Board of Trustees, and Messrs. Kayode A. Oluokun and Oludeji Owoyele, both Members of the Board of Trustees and Co-Founders of the NGO. 

The GGWCup is the world’s only activation-driven football tournament empowering women and citizens around the world through working with the United Nations 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). It is also an alternative 5v5 football tournament where football meets special purpose.

The global finals trophy, which is traditionally held in New York, is competed for by winners from different countries and this year’s tournament was worn by the Yellow Ladies from Czech Republic by defeating the team from Saudi Arabia.

Other local host countries that were also announced include Colombia, Jordan, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, India, Czech Republic, Kenya and Dominican Republic.

Related posts

Fela Durotoye: We need nation builders in government, not politicians

Pelu Awofeso

Buhari’s admittance of relationship with Amina Zakari vindicates our position -PDP

Ify Onyegbule

Covid 19: Lagosians To Wear Face Masks From Next Week – Sanwo-Olu

Ify Onyegbule

Leave a Comment